Put yourself in the picture

Site last updated 23 April 2024

Dirty Harry was filmed at real places in and around San Francisco, and Marin County, California. You can use this travel guide to step into the action.

First published in 2009 the guide keeps current with up-to-the-minute updates.

Dirty Harry was produced by Clint Eastwood’s Malpaso Company and can be purchased everywhere, including Warner Bros. The soundtrack is available from composer Lalo Schifrin’s own website .

Enjoy this blog, and if you do visit, please respect the privacy and property rights of the community.

dirtyharryfilminglocations(at)gmail.com


Locations

About Dirty Harry Filming Locations

An archive of locations lensed in the 1971 movie 'Dirty Harry'. The blog reveals visits to the filming locations decades after the movie was filmed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Put yourself in the picture

  1. Larry N. says:

    This is a terrific find. I visited San Francisco for the first time last month and I wish I had seen this site first! I introduced my daughter to Dirty Harry a couple years ago and we set our sights on seeing as many locations from the film as possible during our trip. We found some other resources, but none as good as this one. Great work!

  2. Mark M. says:

    Can’t thank you enough for this!! I saw Dirty Harry for the first time as a teenager in the late 70’s, and for some reason every time I watch the film I’m left at the end wondering what ever became of that quarry! It’s weird I know but there’s always been something poignant about that scene; tonight on a whim I googled the movie and found this! Thanks for the hard investigative work, great photographs, and for answering many questions! 🙂 All the best, Mark

  3. Garth Stevenson says:

    Planning on a trip to SF this May 2010. I have been researching filming locations in the SF area, in particular the ones for Dirty Harry. Your blog is excellent, and I can’t thank you enough for putting your findings available on line. Can’t wait to check these locations out in May..I hope the weather co-operates.

    Many many thxs.,

    Garth Stevenson
    Nova Scotia, Canada

  4. Cate says:

    I’ve just watched this movie recently! Only wished I read your blog earlier when I was in SF but I’ll be keeping it in mind for my next trip there.

  5. Jack says:

    Love ‘Dirty Harry.’ One of my favorite movies, right up there with ‘Chinatown.’ And this is a great weblog! First rate, meticulously researched and well put together. A terrific resource for fans of the first and greatest ‘Harry.’ I’ll have to mention this site in my own blogs.

  6. Sparafucile says:

    Many of the shots of the police helicopter flying over the Eastern part of the City are shot from the top of 1250 Jones St, the “Clay-Jones” building (a 20-story apt/condo building constructed in 1928). From this vantage, you can see the steel framing of the Embarcadero Towers under construction.

  7. Murray Shoring says:

    Love your website!

    I was in San Francisco last August, but unfortunately didn’t have a lot of time.

    Next time I am visiting from Australia, I will make sure I allow much more time – and have a list of your suggested locations with me.

    Thanks.

  8. Shuichi says:

    This is an incredible website. Dirty harry is the movie which I watched more times than any other movies. as far as i know. I have been to Frisco twice(1995,2006). I went there all the way from Japan to visit the filming locations. I made it to the place like suicide jumper bldg., Kezar stadium, Golden gate Park, Peter & paul Church, forst hills station, City hall, etc. But I should have known this site before my visit.

    Please keep up this site. I will be watching and looking forward to next update.

    Thanks man,

    From a die hard fan from Japan

  9. dan ford says:

    Amazing website for an amazing film thank you.
    Dan Ford ,exeter devon UK

  10. Fred Helfing says:

    The young African American boy slain by Scorpio is suppose to be at Sierra and Texas. That seems to the right location. The area seems to have gone through an extensive makeover, but the apartment buildings seen high on the bluff in the background when Harry is on the walkie talkie are still there on Turner Terrace.

  11. Kevin says:

    I’ve gone through your entire site and it’s great! It’s very comprehensive. Have you considered doing the same for Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home? My attempts so far have turned up very little. I found a pretty good one for ‘Bullet’, however. The format was more difficult to navigate than your’s but fairly comprehensive.

    • tridum says:

      I looked up some of the sites on IMDB for Star Trek IV, being a Trek fan myself. Sadly not as much of the movie was filmed in San Fran as you’d think. Most of the street scenes, e.g “double dumb ass”, “nuclear wessels”, etc were filmed along Columbus Ave. Likewise where Scotty is walking with McCoy (the Yellow Book backdrop) and were Kirk goes to sell the spectacles were filmed right off of Columbus near the 500 block of Pacific. When Kirk and Spock are on the bus they do appear to be headed for Sausalito north on the Golden Gate, but their is no Aquarium in Sausalito. The actual aquarium is in Monterey. All of the “Golden Gate Park” scenes were filmed down in a park in Los Angeles. The street were Kirk and Spock are picked up by Gillian is Marina Blvd and is also seen in Vertigo in the famous scene were Kim Novak’s double jumps in the bay near Ft. Pointe. I hope this helps!

  12. tridum says:

    I want to say thank you. I just got back from San Francisco and used your site to follow Harry and Scorpio around the city. Nice work and look forward to more!

  13. John says:

    I’ve been devoted to this film for thirty years, have visited SF on several occasions and have done my own visits to the landscapes, as they are now. This is just to say thanks for your excellent work and site, and for making me feel not so alone in a forensic appreciation of one of the greatest, and my favourite, of all films. John, England, 21/09/13

  14. flashman181 says:

    Fantastic and very helpful. Great effort. Heading over in 2 weeks and most web sites or apps were mostly useless – this is great

  15. Alex A says:

    I agree. This is a very cool website for Dirty Harry fans.

    I too like a few of the posts above am visiting San Fran for the first time ever this summer.

    I am interested to know where the bank (if it indeed was a bank then or now) is that Harry points his 44 at the bank robber on the sidewalk and he speaks those immortal words for the first time: “I know what you’re thinking. Did he fire six shots or only five?…”.

  16. pepe says:

    I’m watching the movie broadcasted in tv (here in Barcelona) along with your site. It’s really funny to see the current condition of the places seen in the movie.

    Great site. Thanks for your work.Excuse my english.

  17. cuaresma44 says:

    I’ve been to San Francisco several times because I was a former Contra Costa County resident. A long time ago back in the late 90s early 2000s there was a Yahoo sponsored websites called angelfire.com and geocities.com which both had something like this on scenes were Dirty Harry and bullet was filmed. But the authors did not give enough information as this one here on wordpress.com. you’ve contributed a tons of wealth of information concerning the locations, a plethora of it. Kudos to you! I can’t thank you enough. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday.

Leave a comment